Size of ship - Deep Exploration

This sections is intended for the ever growing number of 3D Modellings applications that can or cannot be used for developing addons for VS.

Size of ship - Deep Exploration

Postby julien001 » Fri May 07, 2010 2:50 pm

Hi everybody !

I would like to reduce the size (in MB) of the vessel. Do you have a solution ?

Thank you.

Julien.
Last edited by julien001 on Mon May 17, 2010 6:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
Image
User avatar
julien001
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 8:27 pm
Location: MSC Splendida
Preferred Sim: Virtual Sailor

Re: Size of ship

Postby schmitty » Fri May 07, 2010 3:23 pm

Hello Julien,

i think to reduce the resolution of the textures is a good way to safe MB...


Regards
Christian
Image
---------------------------------------------------
My published Add-ons:
> Download

My actual project:
> -
User avatar
schmitty
 
Posts: 362
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 11:04 am
Location: Germany
Preferred Sim: Vehicle Simulator

Re: Size of ship

Postby Viscount » Fri May 07, 2010 3:32 pm

I agree with Christian. Another way is to replace round objects in the model with square ones. It's a decision between size and quality, and it's not easy to make. Railings, cranes and wires are things that often can look reasonably good if they are square as they could if they were rounded, I think.
I'd go for the texture size first though, since it impacts the performance more than the round objects would.
User avatar
Viscount
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 1:04 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Preferred Sim: Virtual Sailor

Re: Size of ship

Postby Sailorjohn » Fri May 07, 2010 11:27 pm

...and watch out for unnecessary double-sided polygons where not needed...like inside hulls of ships with no interior. I can't tell you the number of times I've downloaded a ship and wondered why it performed so poorly, then looked inside...no interior detail...just reversed exterior polys everywhere! If there's no interior...you should be able to go 'inside' and see...absolutely NOTHING...except the water!
Sailorjohn
 
Posts: 1524
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 1:48 am
Preferred Sim: Vehicle Simulator

Re: Size of ship

Postby julien001 » Sat May 08, 2010 1:36 am

Hi !

Thank you for the advice very useful.

I modeled on sketchup and I deplored the fact of not being able to remove at once all the textures unnecessary ...

But I will follow advice!

Thanks

Julien ;)
Image
Image
User avatar
julien001
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 8:27 pm
Location: MSC Splendida
Preferred Sim: Virtual Sailor

Re: Size of ship

Postby julien001 » Mon May 10, 2010 10:13 am

Hi !

Thanks , i try this afternoon !

Julien
Image
Image
User avatar
julien001
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 8:27 pm
Location: MSC Splendida
Preferred Sim: Virtual Sailor

Re: Size of ship

Postby julien001 » Tue May 11, 2010 7:36 pm

It's perfect thanks !!! :D
Image
Image
User avatar
julien001
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 8:27 pm
Location: MSC Splendida
Preferred Sim: Virtual Sailor

Re: Size of ship

Postby julien001 » Wed May 12, 2010 7:47 pm

Hello !

I have a problem that I can not solve. The size of the ship is 13Mo in ".3ds".

When I converted boat.x, the file size is 56Mo in ".x" !!

Do you know how to solve this problem? This is the first time it gives me that.

It seems that the file is not compressed. But I do not know why ... I use Deep Exploration

Thanks a lot !

Julien :(
Image
Image
User avatar
julien001
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 8:27 pm
Location: MSC Splendida
Preferred Sim: Virtual Sailor

Re: Size of ship

Postby julien001 » Wed May 12, 2010 9:03 pm

I think I have to choose the right options.

Can you tell me what to check and fill in the window ?

Image

Thanks !
Image
Image
User avatar
julien001
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 8:27 pm
Location: MSC Splendida
Preferred Sim: Virtual Sailor

Re: Size of ship - Deep Exploration

Postby julien001 » Mon May 17, 2010 7:00 pm

Hi !

When the vessel is imported into deep exploration, the axes are not direct in the same sense that sketchup. Can you tell me how to move the axes in deep exploration? But without moving the ship.

Thanks

Julien
Image
Image
User avatar
julien001
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 8:27 pm
Location: MSC Splendida
Preferred Sim: Virtual Sailor

Next

Return to 3D Modelling Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest