WIP- S.S. Canberra

Working on something cool? This is where you can tell everyone about it.

WIP- S.S. Canberra

Postby Andrew » Sat Jan 21, 2012 4:23 am

Well, i have been keeping this a secret for too long now and i wanna share it.

Ok back in July, i was deciding to build a new ship. The only problem was i couldnt decide on the ship i wanted to build. I read through many different books and was thinking about Mauretania, Aquitania, Normandie, Queen Elizabeth, Canberra, Oriana, Hanseatic (the former Empress of Scotland), and the unbuilt sister of Normandie, the planned Bretagne. Then at the later end of July, i had narrowed my choices down to 4 ships, Mauretania, Normandie, Canberra, and Oriana. I had started work on a Mauretania for Virtual Sailor but i started playing around with VSF and to this day i still toy around with it.

Anyways, so i narrowed my choices down to just Normandie and Canberra. Both had been a favorite of mine but while i looked for deck plans (and i mean PROPER deck plans) it was Canberra whos caught my eyes first. So around my first semester of college i started working on the ship. I got really into her and by around, oh say October, i had the hull complete. And from November to the end of December I begun (and just recently completed the superstructure. Canberra's unique hull with her sharply curved bow and open decked stern, i managed to complete with almost 100% accurate detailing of the hull. As of this moment, i have Canberra's funnels completed (minus the 5 foot black extensions that were added on in her later career) and the casing built and well.....i think you guys just need to see.
What do you think?
c1.png

c2.png

c3.png
Were you in the boat when the boat tipped over?
No, silly. I was in the water!
Andrew
Global Moderator

Preferred Sim: Virtual Sailor

Re: Sneek Peek

Postby Andrew » Sat Jan 21, 2012 4:59 am

c1.png

c2.png

c3.png