RMS Oceanic (1899)

Working on something cool? This is where you can tell everyone about it.

RMS Oceanic (1899)

Postby StarStack » Tue Apr 23, 2013 10:24 pm

Hello!

My name is StarStack, and I am new to these Fourms. I registered for these forums just to anouce my first project: White Star Line's RMS Oceanic, laid down in 1897 and completed in 1899. She truly set a new standard in ocean travel, for both the White Star, and the rest of the world.

Here are some progress shots of the ship:

She is supposed to be poly light, only 2,790 polys. I did this so everyone would be able to use it on lower end computers.

More updates coming soon.
StarStack

Preferred Sim: Virtual Sailor

Re: RMS Oceanic (1899)

Postby varoun » Tue Apr 23, 2013 11:43 pm

Welcome to the forum :D :D :D :D
VAROUN

Lets save this forum and make it active as before!!
varoun

Preferred Sim: Vehicle Simulator

Postby arraialp » Wed Apr 24, 2013 1:15 am

Welcome to all ... :)
Nice start StarStack ... but i can give you a advice? take it if you want of course, you don't have to go only with 2900 polys for VS this polys is used generally for the last lod in games in the reality i know games who use 5 lods and even the last one the lod5 have more polys then your poly limit target.
A very good low poly and high efficient model in VS can go to 20 000 polys for very low end machines dependent how you build the model , if you attached all separated mesh in one single mesh leaving only movable parts separated and not many little textures you get a very efficient model for week computers. The average computers can manage very well a 60 000 polys and that's is the limit for this computers don't start to lagging with low Frame rates if the model are not build it in the proper and correct way. :)
arraial
arraialp

Preferred Sim: Vehicle Simulator

Postby StarStack » Wed Apr 24, 2013 2:20 am

New Davits:

StarStack

Postby StarStack » Wed Apr 24, 2013 8:30 pm

I rebuilt the Bow today:

And the Bridge: