Firth Of Forth

This is where you can (and should) show off your scenery projects.

Re: Firth Of Forth

Postby itsme » Tue Dec 23, 2008 10:55 am

Take this one for a depth.bmp. http://h1.ripway.com/rbauer/depth.bmp It is not at accurate values but it will do and shapes the slope of the coast line. All the rest is for you now :!:
Cheers, Reino.
User avatar
itsme
 
Posts: 820
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 5:32 pm

Re: Firth Of Forth

Postby danim » Tue Dec 23, 2008 1:11 pm

Thanks very much Reino for your help, it is very much appreciated
User avatar
danim
 
Posts: 801
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 11:38 am
Location: Livingston, Scotland, UK
Preferred Sim: Vehicle Simulator

Re: Firth Of Forth

Postby danim » Tue Dec 23, 2008 5:41 pm

Hi
I have placed a model of the rail bridge into the scenery but it is now about 20miles long and about 5miles high
do you know how to sort it, without resizing it in sketchup
User avatar
danim
 
Posts: 801
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 11:38 am
Location: Livingston, Scotland, UK
Preferred Sim: Vehicle Simulator

Re: Firth Of Forth

Postby itsme » Tue Dec 23, 2008 5:43 pm

Ok Daniel, my pleasure. Enjoy and I am looking forward to see sometime next year a scenery of an area unknown to me.
Cheers, Reino.
User avatar
itsme
 
Posts: 820
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 5:32 pm

Re: Firth Of Forth

Postby itsme » Tue Dec 23, 2008 5:59 pm

Now, I am not making the whole thing :D If it is that much out it must be completely wrong already in SU (Of which I have no idea). Anyway, using objects.txt to place your bridge, the last 3 parameters can be used to size it in x, y and z direction. In your case the will be 0.something. Try and error!

Please read all documentation available and study existing examples.
Cheers, Reino.
User avatar
itsme
 
Posts: 820
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 5:32 pm

Re: Firth Of Forth

Postby danim » Tue Dec 23, 2008 6:29 pm

thanks reino that worked but now it is facing the wrong direction and even after altering the angle it still does not turn
also I will not be asking you help for much longer as once I have figured out how to place 1 object, 1 light, 1 animated object I can then do the rest myself, also for the documentation some of it is not that helpfull if anything goes wrong
User avatar
danim
 
Posts: 801
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 11:38 am
Location: Livingston, Scotland, UK
Preferred Sim: Vehicle Simulator

Re: Firth Of Forth

Postby itsme » Tue Dec 23, 2008 7:41 pm

Then it must have been facing wrong also before ? How did you turn it ? If my memory serves me right, the second parameter in objects.txt turns the object. The value has to be in Radians (!). (Or is it the first one ? No, I think this is the height. Or the other way round :) )
Cheers, Reino.
User avatar
itsme
 
Posts: 820
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 5:32 pm

Re: Firth Of Forth

Postby danim » Tue Dec 23, 2008 8:33 pm

Hi reino
I was trying to get it to turn in degrees but then I tried it in radians and it worked, how would I add floodlights to the bridge
User avatar
danim
 
Posts: 801
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 11:38 am
Location: Livingston, Scotland, UK
Preferred Sim: Vehicle Simulator

Re: Firth Of Forth

Postby itsme » Tue Dec 23, 2008 9:33 pm

RAD because Ilan wanted it that way. :) He could have easily built in the conversion, yet he did not.

Daniel, you now start reading. http://hangsim.com/vs/scenery.php I am going on Xmas leave. ;)
Cheers, Reino.
User avatar
itsme
 
Posts: 820
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 5:32 pm

Re: Firth Of Forth

Postby danim » Tue Dec 23, 2008 10:58 pm

I now have the rail bridge in place and I am now adding the road bridge into position
User avatar
danim
 
Posts: 801
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 11:38 am
Location: Livingston, Scotland, UK
Preferred Sim: Vehicle Simulator

PreviousNext

Return to Scenery WIPs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron