Holes looks good in Blender, but not in Vehicle Simulator?

Are you having problems building or configuring a vehicle addon for VSF or would you like to discuss techniques? This is where to do it!

Holes looks good in Blender, but not in Vehicle Simulator?

Postby saken » Sun Oct 16, 2016 10:42 pm

So, I did use booleans to get this done. But in Vehicle Simulator, it simply looks like this? No matter what I do, it looks all wrong.
In Blender
In Vehicle Simulator
Kind Regards,

saken

Proud Virtual Sailor user since 2005, and Vehicle Simulator user since 2008!
User avatar
saken
 
Posts: 670
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2009 1:36 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Holes looks good in Blender, but not in Vehicle Simulato

Postby Sharpy » Sun Oct 16, 2016 11:50 pm

Aloha.

I use the boolean function alot in AC3D. Sometimes it cuts (knife & cutaway) with no connection between vertices.
I add by hand.
See below.

Image
In this example the top half of the circle would be closed in VSF. The bottom half perfect.

I rarely use Blender so I don't know if this applies.

Steve
Sharpy
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 4:11 am
Location: Lahaina, Hawaii
Preferred Sim: Virtual Sailor

Re: Holes looks good in Blender, but not in Vehicle Simulato

Postby saken » Mon Oct 17, 2016 6:59 am

Steve AKA Sharpy... I cannot thank you enough! THAT was the issue! One more thing... it seems to me that the model is not showing when viewing it from the front in Vehicle Simulator. Does anybody know what could be causing this? It disappears somewhere around the side when the camera goes around it in Vehicle Simulator...
Kind Regards,

saken

Proud Virtual Sailor user since 2005, and Vehicle Simulator user since 2008!
User avatar
saken
 
Posts: 670
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2009 1:36 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Holes looks good in Blender, but not in Vehicle Simulato

Postby Sharpy » Mon Oct 17, 2016 7:20 pm

Wow, glad that was it!!
Sometimes I have to spend a lot of time cleaning up Boolean cuts.
Added unnesessary vertices and slies. And of course manually cutting surfaces.

I can't imagine what could cause the dissapearance of the ship from the front.
The only thing I can think of is wrong facing single sided surfaces.

Hmmm.

Steve
Sharpy
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 4:11 am
Location: Lahaina, Hawaii
Preferred Sim: Virtual Sailor

Re: Holes looks good in Blender, but not in Vehicle Simulato

Postby saken » Mon Oct 17, 2016 7:47 pm

Sharpy wrote:Wow, glad that was it!!
Sometimes I have to spend a lot of time cleaning up Boolean cuts.
Added unnesessary vertices and slies. And of course manually cutting surfaces.

I can't imagine what could cause the dissapearance of the ship from the front.
The only thing I can think of is wrong facing single sided surfaces.

Hmmm.

Steve

Ah, that's good to know :) Oh, I see. I actually found out that when I turn on Simple Mesh, it looks fine? Hmm... maybe Ilan knows about this...
Kind Regards,

saken

Proud Virtual Sailor user since 2005, and Vehicle Simulator user since 2008!
User avatar
saken
 
Posts: 670
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2009 1:36 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Holes looks good in Blender, but not in Vehicle Simulato

Postby saken » Mon Oct 17, 2016 8:26 pm

If it helps... here's the logfile for when loading my model.
Attachments
Logfile.txt
(854 Bytes) Downloaded 43 times
Kind Regards,

saken

Proud Virtual Sailor user since 2005, and Vehicle Simulator user since 2008!
User avatar
saken
 
Posts: 670
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2009 1:36 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Holes looks good in Blender, but not in Vehicle Simulato

Postby Sailorjohn » Mon Oct 17, 2016 9:52 pm

Saken, the disappearance of your vessel suggests exceptionally high poly counts. Ilan added the 'Simple Mesh' option a few years ago to facilitate loading vehicle mesh first before textures. That might be a warning that you need to economize poly and vertices count...especially with such a large vehicle.
Sailorjohn
 
Posts: 1524
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 1:48 am
Preferred Sim: Vehicle Simulator

Re: Holes looks good in Blender, but not in Vehicle Simulato

Postby saken » Tue Oct 18, 2016 2:45 am

Sailorjohn wrote:Saken, the disappearance of your vessel suggests exceptionally high poly counts. Ilan added the 'Simple Mesh' option a few years ago to facilitate loading vehicle mesh first before textures. That might be a warning that you need to economize poly and vertices count...especially with such a large vehicle.

The model would be about, according to Blender, 24,340 faces. And of course 42,103 tris (triangles?) but that may be too much? I don't have a clue...
Kind Regards,

saken

Proud Virtual Sailor user since 2005, and Vehicle Simulator user since 2008!
User avatar
saken
 
Posts: 670
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2009 1:36 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Holes looks good in Blender, but not in Vehicle Simulato

Postby Sharpy » Tue Oct 18, 2016 4:15 am

Howdy.
By that count it shouldn't be a poly limit.
But if 'Simple Mesh' works, then go with it.

The Maltese Falcon has WAY more poly's so far.

Steve
Sharpy
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 4:11 am
Location: Lahaina, Hawaii
Preferred Sim: Virtual Sailor

Re: Holes looks good in Blender, but not in Vehicle Simulato

Postby saken » Tue Oct 18, 2016 6:49 am

Sharpy wrote:Howdy.
By that count it shouldn't be a poly limit.
But if 'Simple Mesh' works, then go with it.

The Maltese Falcon has WAY more poly's so far.

Steve

True. But I suppose I should look for triangles, not faces when I model for Vehicle Simulator. As Vehicle Simulator converts faces to triangles, right?
Kind Regards,

saken

Proud Virtual Sailor user since 2005, and Vehicle Simulator user since 2008!
User avatar
saken
 
Posts: 670
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2009 1:36 pm
Location: Sweden

Next

Return to VSF Vehicle Development Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron